Hindmarsh Shire Youth Council Announced for 2019

2019 Youth Council launches into community

Hindmarsh Shire Council announced their 2019 Youth Council with a celebration launch on Wednesday 20 February, at the Jeparit Memorial Hall in Jeparit.

Hindmarsh Shire Council CEO, Greg Wood welcomed all in attendance before Hindmarsh Shire Mayor, Cr. Ron Ismay, congratulated the successful applicants on their civic appointments. Mr Wood then introduced each new Youth Councillor with the Mayor presenting commemorative certificates and name badges recognising their new roles.

The Hindmarsh Shire Youth Council for 2019 is West Ward; Brodie Kennedy, Ruby James, Lani Elliott, Trinity Cannell, East Ward; Teo Haines, Rebekah Albrecht, Jordan Laverty, Tehya Clarke, and for North Ward; Jordan Leach, Nicholas Roll, Macy Fuller and Jasmine Robins. Also included is Danni Haebich, who is the recipient of the 2019 Young Citizen of the year award.

Following a sit down meal, the evening’s two special guest speakers provided those in attendance with their unique perspectives on growing up in the Wimmera region. Ms. Helen Thomson, manager governance and human services at Hindmarsh Shire Council, who has recently completed a Bachelor of Law and Legal Practice and a Bachelor of Arts detailed her experience of returning home. Georgia Gelligen, herself a former youth councillor, spoke about growing up in Rainbow and the adjustments she has had to make since moving to Geelong to study a degree in criminology and psychological science.

Cr Ismay said, “We really enjoyed welcoming our new youth councillors to the Hindmarsh Shire Council. We can’t wait to see the outcomes of the initiatives that the 2019 Hindmarsh Shire Youth Council comes up with” adding, “it was also pleasing to see so many family and friends join us in celebrating these young leaders in our community. On behalf of Hindmarsh Shire Council I congratulate all newly elected youth councillors, it is an honour to work with such passionate young people” added Cr Ismay.

Cr Ismay concluded, “Council is extremely proud of these young people and is eagerly anticipating the initiatives and directions they take as youth leaders within the Shire.”

The evening was also an opportunity to thank Hindmarsh Shire youth and early years’ officer Meg Hall, who is leaving Council after almost 5 years in the role. Ms. Hall was instrumental in the establishment of the youth council and has been a tireless advocate for youth throughout Hindmarsh Shire.

For more information regarding the Hindmarsh Shire Youth Council please contact Hindmarsh Shire Council Customer Service on 03 5391 4444.